Reaction to Couros lecture

I was really engaged by Alec Couros and his presenttion in general. A few points that stodd out the most were:

  • First, when he said his first computer was an Apple 2c and he used Printshop to become a “publisher” I laughed and laughed. My first computer was also an Apple 2c and I actually started a children’s magazine for my local elementary school using PrintShop. It was so much fun and to be honest, I had forgotten that entirely until he started describing his childhood! Good memories.
  • The idea of being a “digital resident” versus a “digital visitor” was a good comparison that I think helped me really click with how I am different than my students. I teach Freshmen and they are, at least the majority, a generation of “digital residents.” I am not and even after this class, probably will not be 🙂 I enjoy being online and sharing online, but only to a limited degree. I am fairly private and grew up in a home where I was taught to vigilant of my surroundings. I cannot help but bring that vigilance into my online persona, and this helps to construct the way in which I allow myself to be accessed by others. I am anxious to see how I will grow as a teacher and an individual after this course and perhaps see if that guarded vigilance lessens at all and allows me to fully participate/enjoy all the social media has to offer.
  • I’m currently teaching Frederick Douglass and Malcom X and although my students are at times very interested in their writing, they also struggle at other times to connect to these voices from long ago. I felt like Couros gave me a new way into those types of texts today that I have not been using. He talked about “participatory media” and now “everyone has a voice.” I can see real connections between those voices from long ago who did not have a voice, or had a limited voice, and the people today who DO have a voice. How has the world changed? How has the ability to express been made available? What would Frederick Douglass’s Facebook page look like??
  • Finally, I appreciated his emphasis of networking and how this online networking so many people engage in now is different only by technique. We have always networked. It does not define our communities and citizenship, as he said, it redefines it.

I loved this presentation and am considering showing parts of it to students at a later juncture because I feel it may give them the view from my generation as well – a world pre-media!

 

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqualine Dyess
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 23:01:42

    Hi Erika,
    I agree with your second point about feeling like I want to protect my online persona and my privacy. I also feel unsure at times about boundaries with students in an online environment since things which are so clear in a classroom setting seem to have different connotations online. I guess it’s just like learning to teach, the more experience you have with online teaching and interactions with students on the internet, the more you know from your experiences what feels right.
    Jacqualine

    Reply

    • ericaduran
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 23:52:53

      Jacqualine,

      Agreed. I have found that I perhaps over-use my smiley face emoticon online, although that does fit my in-person persona as well. I’m still working on the online personality development. The boundaries, at least so far, have not been an issue, but at the same time I’ve been within the confines of Blackboard. I’m not sure if that would change in say a blog situation. Good points.
      Erica

      Reply

  2. Brandon Davis-Shannon
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 23:42:05

    There’s no reason to think you can’t both be a digital resident and protect your privacy! It’s just a matter of being comfortable with the tools and spaces at your disposal online–and part of that is being aware of what information is available, what isn’t, and what control you have. Why, you’ll be a digital resident before you know it! .;)

    Reply

  3. elearnbpGreg Walker
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 15:29:37

    Aloha,
    To me learning how to use the Internet is a skill that can only be acquired by USING the Internet. I look at the Internet as “open house” and everything I communicate is based on that reality. I would be more interested in the conversation that takes place with Frederick Douglass’s on his Facebook page.
    Mahalo,
    Greg

    Reply

    • ericaduran
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 17:03:29

      Greg – Awesome response! My students are currently writing on Douglass and I’ve been thinking long and hard about incorporating an assignment a former colleague used to use where the students were required to develop a Facebook page for the author they were writing about. What would Frederick Douglass’s page look like and who would he friend, and who would he “like” etc…? I think that would be fascinating, and as you point out, the conversation would be very different! – Erica

      Reply

  4. Trackback: ericaduran

Leave a Reply

