Week 12: Response to Assignments for this week

Wow, my head is a flutter with the cool websites that POT directed us to this week! I’m going to be investigating these for a while.

First, I investigated Open Textbook and I WANT to like it. I’m still of the mind though that wikis can be dangerous (am I too set in my ways for thinking this?). I decided to go to a book in my area 0f English Composition, and more specifically, Analyzing Arguments. The information provided was quite good and I have to admit, I would pull from this website (as is encouraged to do). I’m not sure yet if I would refer my students to it though because there is no author listed except the “staff” and I feel like I’m such a stickler about my students finding credible sources, that it would be difficult for me to recommend going to a textbook that was from an unknown author and free to edit. Regardless, I still like this site.

I also checked out OpenLibrary which I was connected to by searching for texts at the Internet Archive. Holy smokes! I LOVE Open Library! This is like Project Guttenberg, but bigger. They are hooked up to PG whenever possible, but also have more books. There is also the ability to add information, like a wiki, but not to that actual text itself, like Open Textbook. I like that. They have a massive eBook lending library and you can get many books full text. They are also linked to WorldCat whenever possible to try and get people paper copies of books when available.

I didn’t check out Mira Costa’s library sources, as I do not teach there, but I did further investigate Cal State San Marcos. AS always I was impressed with their large number of full text articles and eBooks. They also have an excellent interlibrary loan that delivers texts to email and in person. They even have a link that is now prominent on their website for “eJournals” to make this easier for students to find.

Finally, Ko and Rossen’s points were good this week and continued to give me a bit of a headache about what we can and cannot do. I’ve determined that I should simply consult this book, and other credible sources when I am in doubt. In all of my reading so far about intellectual property I an honestly say I cannot think of an instance where I may have crossed a line, although I am sure there will come a day when I might need to give this much stronger consideration. so far all of my uses of photos or film snippets have been well within the boundaries listed by Ko and Rossen, as well as the other sources we have read.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: ericaduran
  2. B Davis-Shannon (@bdavisshannon)
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 20:15:40

    I’m interested in your comment that wiki’s can be dangerous: do you mean to create or to get info from. I’m assuming the latter. In that vein, I “let” students using wikis (they’re going to do it anyway), but I provide them with guidance for checking info on wikis. Where did the info come from? If you don’t know, you can’t trust it–check that citation! Wikis are nice summaries, nice starting points, but theory really need to be the beginning of any research. The biggest risk, I think, is that students will stop at that easy summary and never question the info they receive.

    Reply

    • ericaduran
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 21:05:21

      Good question and I should have been more clear- I meant to got info from. I do give them a speech on how to use them, knowing of course that they will and being honest with them that I use Wikis also, but with certain rules to follow. I felt that the wiki basis for the textbook, though, would appear contradictory to my own advice. I tell them, as you do, not to use a source whose author you cannot determine, and so with this textbook the word “staff” for the creators or writers bothered me. Who is “staff”? Do they have a degree in Composition or Rhetoric? If I don’t know the author and I jsut told my students not to use sources with no author or unidentified authors, then who am I to use a textbook for the class by the very same?

      So, overall, I liked the content because I know as someone with some background in Rhet/Comp that it is good, but I hesitate to use such a textbook with no identifiable author.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

