Week 18 – Course Management Systems

I found this weeks readings to be so interesting. Lisa’s article on “novice faculty” was a real eye opener for me too, because all of my sort of gut instincts about the profile of most on line teachers was confirmed. She said that the majority of the faculty interviewed didn’t use the Internet even much in their own work, which is really intriguing and also a bit unsettling considering they are being asked to teach on line. I have to say though, that is one great case for CMSs because if we cannot change who is teaching we can at least supply them with programs that are easy enough to use to get a class up and running on line. Of course we all hope instructors will go to more trouble, like each of us are in this POT program, to get more education on the pedagogies and tools available to us through these CMSs, but we also need to be realistic and realize many won’t or can’t for some reason or another.

Anyway – I did a Prezi with my thoughts for this week’s stuff. I seem to have lost my knack for embedding, but I’ve successfully linked, lol ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisahistory
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 03:10:24

    Really enjoyed your use of Prezi to share your reflections! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

